Types of Leukemia

Leukemia can be divided into four different types. It is first classified as acute or chronic.

In chronic leukemia, the leukemia cells come from mature, abnormal cells. The cells thrive for too long and accumulate. These type of cells slowly multiply.

Acute leukemias, on the other hand, develop from early cells, called “blasts,” which are young cells that divide frequently. In acute leukemia cells, they don’t stop dividing like their normal counterparts do.


Want some one to contact you for cancer treatment

Myelogenous vs Lymphocytic

After being classified as acute or chronic, it is then classified by the type of cells in which the leukemia started from. It can either be myelogenous or lymphocytic.

Myelogenous leukemia develops from myeloid cells. The disease can either be chronic or acute, referred to as chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML) and acute myelogenous leukemia (AML).

There are several types of myelogenous leukemia.

Lymphocytic Leukemia

Lymphocytic leukemia develops from cells called “lymphoblasts” or “lymphocytes” in the blood marrow. The disease can be acute or chronic, referred to as chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) and acute lymphocytic leukemia (ALL). There are several types of lymphocytic leukemia.

For more information, medical assessment and medical quote
send your detailed medical history and medical reports
as email attachment to
Email :info@wecareindia.com
Call: +91 9029304141 (10 am. To 8 pm. IST)
(Only for international patients seeking treatment in India)

Worried for treatment, take a free second opinion te

Types of Cancer and its Treatment in India